Tamara Drewe 10812

Saw Tamara Drewe last night which I thought was brilliant. I fondly remember the Posy Simmonds graphic novel serialised in the Guardian a couple of years ago, and now I’ve seen the film, shall try and get a copy of the book. Basically Posy Simmonds is just brilliant; her sense of humour and irony are wonderful. It also brought back fond memories of a writers’  holiday I enjoyed last year when just for a moment we all imagined ourselves as incredibly successful writers. We’re working on it, we’re working on it.

Having been subjected to Avatar 3D last weekend (as I was the last person on this planet to see it, but felt I should) I can only say the two films are like chalk and cheese, and I prefer the low calorie cheese: Tamara Drewe is wonderfully low budget, low tech, with zero special effects, AND manages to capture the true essence of British life in all its middle class gentility, fumbled sex and teenage swearing swearing. Loved it, loved oggling Andy. Plus there were no blue people. You won’t be disappointed.

UPDATE: Today the critics panned it but I beg to differ!

Leave a Reply

