writing tips 10915

I am rejigging my picture book, Lost In Venice. It isn’t easy because I feel I am at the coal face and can no longer see it so clearly. But I’ll keep pressing on because I can see a whole series developing and mentally I am already rejecting the mail bag of invitations to Literary Festivals and book shop signings. Double bookings are so tedious.

To help myself I have started doing online research into Picture Books and have come across various blogs and websites that offer good advice and tips. I have printed off so many snippets that my expensive new cartridges are now blinking low at me again. GGgrrrr! Why are they £30 a pop and only last five minutes?

I recently arrived at a writers’ conference and was nervously sorting out my name tag thinking how I didn’t know anyone and dare I sidle over to the coffee machine on my own when I found myself very generously lending a pen to the woman next to me; we got talking, as you do when you’re screaming I don’t know anyone inside, and I asked her what sort of writing she did. BINGO! I’d struck gold! She said she was a childrens’ author who’d written over 100 books. Dearly wishing to have even one minor tome published I thought, stick close this woman – she knows a lot more than you do; then further wicked thoughts like: useful contact, fame and fortune, it’s who you know, gold digger etc. sprang to mind. So I got out my glue gun, did as it says on the tin, and stuck close to her practically sitting right on top of her as we went through. She was lovely and I really liked her Brummy accent which reminded me of my roots and the accent I’d tried to stave off. But, hey, now that John Bishop has made regional accents de rigeur I may start cultivating the Brummy one again. Well, if it worked for her……..The fact that she then proceeded to place a colourful business card straight into my hungry paw without being asked also made her a friend for life. Nice to meet you Karen King.

So afterwards I looked up her website and started clicking on the tips and links, and links of links, and links of links of links and BINGO! stumbled across the one below which I now share with you. I thought it was funny and useful, especially for anyone as hungry to write a Picture Book as I am.

http://editorialanonymous.blogspot.com/

Unfortunately I can’t now find the bit on it about Picture Books; it is in there some where so if you stumble across it, send me the link. Please.

2 Responses to “writing tips 10915”

  1. Christine Coleman Says:

    Hi Sara, I really like your painting style and I was impressed by the number of personal comments you’ve received from agents. Good luck with your Venice book (and any others you produce.)
    Christine

    • Sara Hayward Says:

      Thanks very much Christine. I’m aiming to send my picture book out shortly complete with added child friendly illustrations and a simpler text. If I have any success I’ll let you know! (The whole world will know).


Leave a Reply

