120507 gone walkabout

I have just been along to the annual Cropthorne Walkabout (or Cropthorne Splashabout as my husband called it in view of the weather). It was lovely with gorgeous gardens, stalls, magic shows, Morris men, cakes, teas and live jazz; the very best of British. Some of the views from the gardens beyond the river Avon over the Worcestershire landscape were truly magnificent but I was surprised Holland House wasn’t serving teas; last time we went we were queuing round the block. We bought two lovely art books on a book stall: Eric Ravilious and the Newlyn School, plus a Barbar book (the child in me couldn’t resist) , and I have just planted the plants I bought on the plant stall. And all in aid of Cropthorne Church. Incidentally I read in a magazine in the hairdressers recently that the Queen doesn’t like variegated plants which surprised me because I do! I think they can be used very effectively in a garden to create all year round interest. Without them the gardeners’ palette of colours would be severely diminished, don’t you think? There you go, you learn something new every day. Anyway I hope lots of local people come along and support the Worcestershire Arts Trail in a few weeks time. I’m sure they will.

Leave a Reply

