Sunshine & Burgh Island Day 8

 

water colour study from my sketch book

water colour study from my sketch book

February 27th 2013

The sun came out! Hurray! I covered over more or less all I had done on the oil painting last week and softened it with an overlay of the palest creamiest blue I could make and added washes to sketch book studies which examine arts and crafts motif in and around Winterbourne. I created a larger acrylic study of the garden in black and white on a red ground working from a charcoal sketch. Went to lunchtime lecture at Barber Institute on art deco where they mentioned John Nettlefold’s cousin Archie Nettlefold who built Burgh Island Hotel, Bigbury-on-sea, Devon, c. 1929. Began two abstract oils to which I will keep adding. Worked in the garden later in the afternoon, looking, sketching, and thinking. The bird song was noticeably loud and lovely but the chickens had been put to bed by the time I got to them. Primroses, crocae, hellebore are all out and I saw a daffodil and azalea in bud. There are signs of growth everywhere. Drew some of the gardeners working in the garden from the window; they were busy clearing winter debris off the ground.

Leave a Reply

