Formality & Frostbite Day 12

 

water colour study from my sketch book

water colour study from my sketch book

March 11th 2013

I’m starting to see repeat Winterbourne visitors so am beginning to feel part of the furniture. One student volunteer is from Taiwan, called Sunny. Let’s hope she exercises an influence. They say they enjoy playing spot the difference when they come into the studio. So do I! Winterbourne has a particular atmosphere rather like a well made comfortable pair of shoes or a favourite mug. I like the Jekyll inspired garden layout with  its contrast of formality and informality. Today I worked on a small square format in fine liner which leaves no room for error- you have to get it right first time.  It makes you think before you make a mark which is no bad thing. I felt like an architect or designer and very different from smudging charcoal around. Composition is one of the first considerations after subject matter and requires many decisions before pen is put to paper, not least selection and editing. On walking to the station at 5 o’clock. I removed my glove to buy some fruit and by the time I arrived at the station I feared my hand had frostbite.

Leave a Reply

